Skip to main content

Work Under Way

2020 Advisory Committee Members

The Departments of Agriculture (USDA) and Health and Human Services (HHS) announced the appointment of 20 nationally recognized experts to serve on the 2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee. The independent Advisory Committee will review scientific evidence on topics and questions identified by the Departments and will provide a report on their findings to the Secretaries. The Committee’s review, along with public and agency comments on their scientific report, will help inform USDA and HHS’ development of the 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

Barbara Schneeman, PhD
University of California, Davis

Ronald Kleinman, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Vice Chair

Jamy Ard, MD 
Wake Forest School of Medicine

Regan Bailey, PhD, MPH, RD
Purdue University

Lydia Bazzano, MD, PhD
Tulane University and Ochsner Health System

Carol Boushey, PhD, MPH, RD
University of Hawaii

Teresa Davis, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine

Kathryn Dewey, PhD
University of California, Davis

Sharon Donovan, PhD, RD
University of Illinois, Urbana

Steven Heymsfield, MD
Louisiana State University, Pennington Biomedical Research Center

Heather Leidy, PhD
University of Texas at Austin (summer 2019)

Richard Mattes, PhD, MPH, RD
Purdue University

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD, RD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Timothy Naimi, MD, MPH
Boston University

Rachel Novotny, PhD, RDN, LD
University of Hawaii

Joan Sabaté, DrPH, MD
Loma Linda University

Linda Snetselaar, PhD, RD
University of Iowa

Jamie Stang, PhD
University of Minnesota

Elsie Taveras, MD, MPH
Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, and Harvard Chan School or Public Health

Linda Van Horn, PhD, RDN, LD
Northwestern University