Skip to main content

Work Under Way

Meeting 5 Registration is Now Open!

Register now to attend the fifth meeting of the 2025 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee
virtually on May 29 - 30, 2024

About the Committee

On January 19, 2023, the Departments of Health and Human Services (HHS) and Agriculture (USDA) announced the appointment of 20 nationally recognized nutrition and public health experts to serve on the 2025 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee (Committee). The Committee is tasked with reviewing the current body of nutrition science on specific topics and questions and developing a scientific report that includes its independent, science-based advice for HHS and USDA to consider. The Committee’s review, along with public comments on its scientific report and agency input, will help inform HHS and USDA as they develop the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025-2030. Throughout the Committee’s term, members will collaborate during public and subcommittee meetings, participate in the development of evidence review protocols, review and synthesize evidence, present scientific findings, consider public comments, and develop and submit the scientific report. To learn more about the Committee’s purpose, duties, and general operations, review the Committee’s charter.

2025 Advisory Committee Members

The 2025 Committee will examine the relationship between diet and health across all life stages, and will use a health equity lens across its evidence review to ensure factors such as socioeconomic status, race, ethnicity, and culture are described and considered to the greatest extent possible based on the information provided in the scientific literature and data. This will help HHS and USDA ensure that the resulting guidance in the Dietary Guidelines is relevant to people with diverse racial, ethnic, socioeconomic, and cultural backgrounds. To aid in this process, the Committee members have substantial health equity expertise in human nutrition and experience conducting research with diverse populations. Learn more about how HHS and USDA established the Committee.

View BiographiesView Committee DisclosuresView Subcommittees

Meet the Members

Sarah Booth

Sarah Booth, PhD

Tufts University

Angela Odoms Young

Vice Chair
Angela Odoms-Young, PhD, MS

Cornell University

Steven Abrams

Steven Abrams, MD
University of Texas at Austin

Cheryl Anderson

Cheryl Anderson, PhD, MPH, MS
University of California San Diego

Aline Andres

Aline Andres, PhD, RD
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Carol Byrd Bredbenner

Carol Byrd-Bredbenner, PhD, RD, FAND
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Andrea Deierlein

Andrea Deierlein, PhD, MPH, MS
New York University

Heather Eicher Miller

Heather Eicher-Miller, PhD
Purdue University

Jennifer Orlet Fisher

Jennifer Orlet Fisher, PhD
Temple University

Tteresa Fung

Teresa Fung, ScD, RD
Simmons University

Christopher Gardner

Christopher Gardner, PhD
Stanford University

Edward Giovannucci

Edward Giovannucci, MD, ScD
Harvard University

Deanna Hoelscher

Deanna Hoelscher, PhD, RDN, LD, CNS, FISBNPA
UT Health Houston School of Public Health

Valarie Blue Bird Jernigan

Valarie Blue Bird Jernigan, DrPH, MPH
Oklahoma State University

Cristina Palacios

Cristina Palacios, PhD, MSc
Florida International University

Hollie Raynor

Hollie Raynor, PhD, RD, LDN
University of Tennessee Knoxville

Fatima Cody Stanford

Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, MPH, MPA, MBA, FAAP, FACP, FAHA, FAMWA, FTOS
Harvard University

Sameera Talegawkar

Sameera Talegawkar, PhD
The George Washington University

Christopher Taylor

Chris Taylor, PhD, RDN, LD, FAND
The Ohio State University

Deirdre Tobias

Deirdre Tobias, ScD
Harvard University